The pretty village of Cawdor, originally called Calder, became a conservation village in 1974. Cawdor Castle welcomes over 70,000 visitors each season,and both the Castle and Gardens hold a fascinating history as well as interesting modern touches.
Cawdor Tavern opened in 1978, converted from the Estate’s Joiner Workshop. The oak panelling in the lounge bar was taken from the castle drawing room prior to the castle opening to the public in 1976. The Bowling green lies opposite the Tavern and a corner of the old school playground serves as a children’s play park. Holding centre stage in the community garden is the Fountain . Visitors and locals can enjoy a seat and a chat on the World War One commemorative bench. A large map helps visitors to identify key points of interest as they walk around the village.
Cawdor Village Store, a thriving shop at the entrance to the village, was converted from the Estate Forestry Store, with the old cone kiln close by. The Royal Bracla Distillery, built in 1812 by Cpt William Fraser of Brackla House, lies 2 miles east of the village.
In 2019 Cawdor Parish Church will celebrate 400 years of worship. It was built in 1619, thanks to Sir John Campbell, 12th Thane. Some interesting gravestones can be found in the churchyard, among them that of Neil Smith, Asst. Surgeon on board Nelson’s Victory. Following a survey carried out by some of its members, Cawdor Heritage Group holds details of the gravestones in Cawdor, and those in the much older kirkyard of Barevan, 2 miles south of the village.
2007 saw the 1855 school close with the opening of the new school and community centre on the Bog Road. Although Cawdor is a village the community encompasses a much wider area, as can be seen by the school attendance, and groups using the facilities offered by the community Centre.